The Department has a range of devolved policing and justice functions as set out in the Northern Ireland Act 1998 (Devolution of Policing and Justice Functions) Order 2010.

The Department is responsible for the resourcing, legislative and policy framework of the justice system.

It is headed by a Permanent Secretary, Peter

May, and has four Directorates:

  • Access to Justice
  • Safer Communities
  • Justice Delivery
  • Reducing Offending

The Department also has five Agencies:

  • Northern Ireland Prison Service
  • Northern Ireland Courts and Tribunals Service
  • Youth Justice Agency
  • Forensic Science Northern Ireland
  • Legal Services Agency

The Department also sponsors a number of NDPBs/bodies affiliated with policing and justice.

The Department has a staff complement of just over 3,000 staff, with around 2,500 of those working in front-line operational roles.

Peter May Chair

Why the Department of Justice Board is supporting Boardroom Apprentice

The DoJ Board is interested in diversity and this is an opportunity to increase the diversity of the Board. We want to offer someone with no previous knowledge or experience the opportunity to build this practical experience and to see the work of the Board in action. It will be good to have a layman’s point of view and to see the Board and the Department through their eyes.

Location of Board and Committee Meetings

5th Floor Castle Buildings, 

Stormont Estate

Belfast BT4 3SG

Please note that the Board will also visit various locations of Agencies and these are largely in the Belfast are.

Frequency and timing of board/committee meetings

Board meetings are currently held every 6 weeks.

Audit and Risk Committee meetings are every quarter

Date of Board Meetings (September 2022 – August 2023)

14 September, 26 October, 14 December

2023 dates yet to be arranged

Committee of the Boards and meeting dates (September 2022 – August 2023)

Audit and Risk Committees – September and November – to be confirmed